Going Gluten Free

by Isabel De Los Rios

Learning that you or your child have a gluten allergy can be difficult - you think that you can't have your favorite foods like pizza, and you worry about what your new diet will be like. Isabel De Los Rios, Certified Holistic Nutritionist & Co-Founder of explains what it means to be gluten intolerant and how to go gluten-free:

Which Foods Contain Gluten? Some gluten-containing foods and ingredients to avoidgluten free include the following:

§  Beer

§  Breads (bagels, biscuits, English muffins, rolls, tortillas)

§  Cakes and cookies

§  Cold cereals (some – read ingredient lists)

§  Condiments like soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and salad dressings

§  Couscous

§  Gravies

§  Oats (Oats do not contain gluten, but have the risk of cross-contact during harvesting or processing.)

§  Pasta

 What to Watch for on a Label if You a Have Gluten Intolerance

§  Grains like wheat, barley, rye, spelt, semolina, kamut, wheat germ, bulgur, farina

§  Hydrolyzed vegetable protein

§  Starch and vegetable starch

§  Brown rice syrup

§  Artificial colors

§  Malt (extract, syrup, flavoring)

§  Thickeners

 Alternative gluten-free foods (eat this, not that).  Wheat and all-purpose flours should be avoided on a gluten-free diet. Instead, use almond flour, coconut flour, garbanzo bean flour, brown rice flour, millet flour, or quinoa flour.  Allowable gluten-free foods and ingredients include the following:

§  Amaranth

§  Arrowroot

§  Bean flours (e.g., garbanzo, sorghum)

§  Buckwheat

§  Corn

§  Millet

§  Quinoa

§  Rice

 Gluten-Free Recipes

It’s important to remember that gluten-free flours cannot be directly substituted for wheat flour. In baking, gluten-free flours tend to work best when combined with other gluten-free flours. Also, because gluten is a protein, it can help to add protein (like eggs) when using gluten-free flours in place of wheat flour.