Advertisement

Call a Principal!

How can I tell if my child is safe at school? How much homework is too much? My son is having a hard time reading, should I have him tested?

For three days in April, you can call or e-mail the Ask-A-Principal Hotline and get answers to all of your pressing questions on education. You’ll speak directly, but anonymously, with a school principal or school psychologist, when the National Association of Elementary School Principals holds its 16th annual hotline, April 17-19.

This once-a-year, toll-free phone and e-mail service is offered in English and Spanish for parents, grandparents or anyone with a question about schools, children and education. In the past, callers have raised questions about topics such as school discipline, special education policies, testing, learning difficulties and kindergarten entrance.

Approximately 150 educators will staff phones and computer terminals for the hotline. Their purpose is to ease difficulties and encourage constructive communication between schools and families. Family members who are curious, troubled or simply need some reassurance regarding their child’s education can speak confidentially with a principal or get specialized advice from a school psychologist from the National Association of School Psychologists.

Call toll-free, 800-944-1601, or access e-mail through www.naesp.org during the following days and times in your area:

Sunday, 4/17 
Eastern 1 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Central noon - 6 p.m.
Mountain 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Pacific 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Monday, 4/18 
Eastern  7 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Central 6 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Mountain  5 a.m. - 5 p.m. 
Pacific  4 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Tuesday, 4/19
Eastern 7 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Central 6 a.m. - noon
Mountain 5 a.m. - 11 a.m.
Pacific 4 a.m. - 10 a.m.

Callers may also request free copies of a parent-friendly brochure on elementary school education. E-mail questions will also be accepted on Saturday, April 16.
– Judy Molland

Advertisment